Adding a note to an item can be a helpful contribution when the information is not already included in the item's record. A note can contain any additional information relevant to an item, such as related events, related items in Trove, or even a book review.

You can create a note for all content on Trove, except for the Australian Web Archive.


Add a note

After you create a note, it will appear in the Notes section of your Trove profile.

To a Trove item 

  1. Go to a Trove work or item record that you want to add a note to.
  2. Scroll down to the Work notes section.
  3. Select Show work notes.
  4. Select Add work note. If you are not logged in to your Trove account, you will be requested to Login, Sign Up or Add an anonymous note.
  5. Select an option to make the note Public or PrivateNote: Public notes are visible to everyone. You must be logged in to your Trove account to add a private note.
  6. Enter information into the Your notes field.
  7. Select Save.

To a newspaper or gazette article 

  1. Go to the article that you want to add a note to.
  2. While in the newspaper viewer, select Notes    from the sidebar on the left hand side of the screen.
  3. Select Add. If you are not logged in to your Trove account, you will be requested to Login, Sign Up or Add an anonymous note.  
  4. Enter your note information into the field.
  5. If you want your note to be visible only to you, select the checkbox adjacent to Keep my note privateNote: Public notes are visible to everyone. You must be logged in to your Trove account to add a private note.
  6. Select Save.

Edit a note

In a Trove item record

  1. Login to Trove with the account you used to create the note.
  2. Go the Trove work or item record to which you have added the note. 
  3. In the Work notes section, select Show work notes.
  4. To edit a note, select the   icon.
  5. Edit the note details.
  6. Select Save.

In a newspaper or gazette article

  1. Login to Trove with the account you used to create the note. 
  2. Go to the article to which you have added the note. 
  3. Select Notes    from sidebar on the left hand side of the screen.
  4. To edit a note, select the    icon.
  5. Edit the note details.
  6. Select Save.

Delete a note

In a Trove item record

You may only delete a note that you have added while logged into Trove. If you find a note that you believe is in breach of the Trove Terms of use please contact us and include a link to the item where it appears.

  1. Login to Trove with the account you used to create the note.
  2. Go the Trove work or item record to which you have added the note. 
  3. In the Work notes section, select Show work notes.
  4. To delete a note, select the    icon.
  5. Select OK to confirm.

In a newspaper or gazette article

  1. Login to Trove with the account you used to create the note. 
  2. Go to the article to which you have added the note. 
  3. Select Notes    from sidebar on the left hand side of the screen.
  4. To delete a note, select the    icon.