Lists (None yet)

Login to create lists

Tagged (None yet)

Add Tags

Comments (None yet)

Add New Comment

No corrections yet

ยป New coast names

10 areas now cut to four

Names and extent of the new local authorities created by the redistribu tion of local eovernment

on the South Coast are: Town of South Coast: Coastal strip extending from South port to Coolangatta, and tak ing in the Burleigh Heads part of Nerang Shire. Shire of Albert: Rest of Nerang Shire, Coomera. and Been leigh shires, southern part of Tingalpa and eastern part of Waterford. Shire of Redlands: Cleveland Shire and northern part of Tingalpa Shire. Shire of Beaudescrt: .Beau desert and Tamborine shires and the western part of Waterford Shire.

May be changed This was announced last night by the Local Government Minister (Mr. Power) He said that 10 local author ty areas had been reduced to four yesterday when the Execu tive Council approved the re distribution. Any application to change the name of Town of South Coast would be considered. Mr. Power said the Southport Council had adopted the name South Coast and no objection had been received to this name from the other councils con cerned.

Keep old names Mr. Power continued that the ;hree shires had been divided nto divisions for electoral pur joses and representation, but ;he coastal strip had not been iivided into divisions as the law required cities and towns to be jndivided. This meant that names made famous as seaside re sorts would retain their iden tity. They included Southport Surfers' Paradise, Broadbeach, Burleigh Heads, Currumbin, Palm Beach, Tugun, and Cool ingatta. First elections to the new councils would be held in May. The existing councils would carry on until then.