Lists (None yet)

Login to create lists

Tagged (None yet)

Add Tags

Comments (None yet)

Add New Comment

1 correction by anonymous - Show corrections




WORK ON ANTHROPOLOGY Studying Aboriginal Culture  

A committee of the Australian National Research Council and members of vari- ous scientific organisations In Australia met yesterday afternoon at the University for an informal discussion of the desira- bility of bringlng about a federatlon on a national basis of the various organlsatlons interested in scientific progress through- out Australia. The executive committee of the Australian National Research Council was requested to take such steps as would bring together interested partles to formulate means by which federation   might be attained.

A comprehenslve report from the com- mittee on anthropologlcal research at- tracted much interest at the biennial general meeting of the Australian Na- tional Research Council at the University. Details of anthropological, educational, sociological, and linguistic work done by 14 scholars under research grants and fellowships were given in the report. The fields of research covered by these scient- ists are Central Australia, Northern Terrl-   tory, the northern parts of Western Aus- tralia, the northern parts of South Aus- tralia, Cape York Peninsula, New Guinea, New Ireland, New England, and the

British Solomon Islands.

The committee reported that during the last two years it had worked on the gene-   ral plan laid down in earlier years, firstly, to pay special attention to research in Australia, with the object of completing, if possible, knowledge of the aborigines before it was too late, and secondly, to do all that was possible to increase know- ledge of the peoples of New Guinea and Melanesia, not only for scientific pur- poses but also so that the results might be available for the administrations con- cerned. In New Guinea and Melanesia types of cultures had been chosen and studied and in a few cases special at- tention had been paid to problems of cul- ture contact The amount of work to be done was almost overwhelming, and   the resources of the Research Council did not give hope of much being done. For- tunately, some of the scientific organisa- tions in England and the United States were making it possible for workers to go

to New Guinea.

Great advances had been made in the   general survey of Australian aboriginal life and, in addition, intensive work had been carried out in at least five areas, namely, Cape York Peninsula, a small part of Arnhem Land, the Daly Rlver, the country of the Aranda tribe, and the For

rest River area.

Urgent Plea for Funds

Emphasis was laid upon the fact that investigations after June 1935 would de-

pend entirely upon the availability of fresh funds. There was a need for workers, each of whom could take up a       particular area, master the language, then thoroughly understand the social, eco-   nomic, and rellglous principles of the aborigines' life. The committee had re- lied until now upon funds granted from abroad. It hoped that people in Aus-

tralla interested in the work would make


Lyle Medal Award

The first award of the Lyle medal was     made by the executive of the Research Council to Professor J. R. Wilton of the     University of Adelaide for his work in mathematics from 1928 until 1933. A design-a head of Sir Thomas Lyle-has been executed by Mr. Rayner Hoff.

Sir George Julius was elected president for the next two years. The other office-bearers   chosen were-Deputy president, Sir David Rivett, honorary secretary, Mr. A. J. Gibson, honorary treasurer, Professor O. U. Vonwiller,   vice-presidents, Professor N. T. M. Wilsmore   (W.A.), Professor H. C. Richards (Q.), Sir       Douglas Mawson (A.), Dr. G. A. Waterhouse (S.), executive committee, Mr. E. C. Andrews (S.), Professor de Courcey Clarke (W.A.),      

Professor W. J. Dakln (S.), Dr. ?? T. Dickson   (Commonwealth), Mr. J. B. Anderson (S.),    

Professor T. G. B. Osborn (S.), Professor   A. E. V. Richardson (A.), Professor E. W.   Skoals (M.), Mr. W. E. Wainwright (M.), Dr.   A. B. Walkom (S.), Professor R. D. Watt  


The executive has power to co-opt four addl-   tlonal members. Dr. C. H. Kellaway was co- opted. Three more appointments will be made later.