Confessions of Zeno / Italo Svevo ; translated from the Italian by Beryl de Zoete ; with a note on Svevo by Edouard Roditi Svevo, Italo, 1861-1928

User activity

Share to:
View the summary of this work
Author
Svevo, Italo, 1861-1928
Subjects
Italy - Fiction.; Psychological fiction.; Fiction.
Audience
General; Juvenile
Summary
Long hailed as a seminal work of modernism in the tradition of Joyce and Kafka, and now available in a supple new English translation, Italo Svevo's charming and splendidly idiosyncratic novel conducts readers deep into one hilariously hyperactive and endlessly self-deluding mind. The mind in question belongs to Zeno Cosini, a neurotic Italian businessman who is writing his confessions at the behest of his psychiatrist. Here are Zeno's interminable attempts to quit smoking, his courtship of the beautiful yet unresponsive Ada, his unexpected'and unexpectedly happy'marriage to Ada's homely sister Augusta, and his affair with a shrill-voiced aspiring singer. Relating these misadventures with wry wit and a perspicacity at once unblinking and compassionate, Zeno's Conscience is a miracle of psychological realism.
Sample
Excerpt
Bookmark
http://trove.nla.gov.au/work/5981370
Work ID
5981370

User activity


e.g. test cricket, Perth (WA), "Parkes, Henry"

Separate different tags with a comma. To include a comma in your tag, surround the tag with double quotes.

Be the first to add a tag for this work

Be the first to add this to a list

Comments and reviews

What are comments? Add a comment

No user comments or reviews for this work

Add a comment


Show comments and reviews from Amazon users