Mental philosophy : including the intellect, sensibilities, and will. By Joseph Haven Haven, Joseph, 1816-1874

User activity

Share to:
View the summary of this work
Haven, Joseph, 1816-1874
Psychology.; Mental Processes; Philosophy of mind.
"This book on mental philosophy is broken into three main divisions. In turn, each division is comprised of subparts and constituent chapters. The First Division is called "The intellectual faculties". It contains sections dedicated to presentative and representative powers. This includes chapters dedicated to the topics of memory, imagination, synthetic processes and generalization, the analytic powers and reasoning, intuition, and, cognition of the beautiful and what is right. The Second Division is called "The sensibilities". It contains sections and chapters dealing with nature, affections and emotions, desires, and hope and fear. The Third Division is titled "The will". This division addresses freedom and will, volition, choice, motives, and the connections of religious truths." (PsycINFO Database Record (c) 2010 APA, all rights reserved).
Work ID

User activity

e.g. test cricket, Perth (WA), "Parkes, Henry"

Separate different tags with a comma. To include a comma in your tag, surround the tag with double quotes.

Be the first to add a tag for this work

Be the first to add this to a list

Comments and reviews

What are comments? Add a comment

No user comments or reviews for this work

Add a comment

Show comments and reviews from Amazon users